The WWA Team

The WWA Team is comprised of accomplished researchers in varied disciplines—climatology, hydrology, ecology, social sciences, and law—at the University of Colorado-Boulder and several other institutions in the region. WWA is led by five Principal Investigators who direct the research program, assisted by staff who support both research and integrating activities such as outreach and communications.

WWA Research Leadership and Staff

CIRES = Cooperative Institute for Research in Environmental Sciences
CSTPR = Center for Science & Technology Policy Research
INSTAAR = Institute for Arctic and Alpine Research

Kristen Averyt

Lisa Dilling, Director
Associate Professor, Environmental Studies
Fellow of CIRES
University of Colorado Boulder
ldilling@colorado.edu

 

 

William Travis

William Travis, Interim Director
Associate Professor, Geography
University of Colorado Boulder
william.travis@colorado.edu

Ursula Rick

Ursula Rick, Program Manager and Research Scientist
CIRES
University of Colorado Boulder
ursula.rick@colorado.edu

   
Jeff Lukas

Jeff Lukas, Research Integration Specialist (Colorado/Wyoming)
Associate Scientist, CIRES
University of Colorado Boulder
303-735-2698
lukas@colorado.edu

   
Sath Arens

Seth Arens, Research Integration Specialist (Utah)
CIRES
University of Colorado Boulder
wwa.arens@gmail.com

Joseph Barsugli

Joseph Barsugli, Lead Researcher
Research Scientist, CIRES
University of Colorado Boulder
Affiliate, NOAA Earth Systems Research Laboratory
joseph.barsugli@noaa.gov

   
Ben Livneh

Ben Livneh
Research Scientist, CIRES
University of Colorado Boulder
Affiliate, NOAA Earth Systems Research Laboratory
ben.livneh@noaa.gov

Ami Nacu-Schmidt

Elizabeth 'Bets' McNie, Lead Researcher
Research Scientist, CIRES
University of Colorado Boulder
mcnie@colorado.edu

   
Noah Molotch

Noah Molotch, Lead Researcher
Assistant Professor, Geography
Fellow of INSTAAR
University of Colorado Boulder
noah.molotch@colorado.edu

 

 

 

Research Team

Krister Andersson

Krister Andersson
Associate Professor, Political Science
University of Colorado Boulder
krister.andersson@colorado.edu

 

 

Kristen Averyt

Kristen Averyt
Associate Director, CIRES
University of Colorado Boulder
kristen.averyt@colorado.edu

   
Cameron Bracken

Cameron Bracken
Civil Engineer, U.S. Bureau of Reclamation
and University of Colorado Boulder
cameron.bracken@colorado.edu

 

 

Jeff Deems

Jeff Deems
Research Scientist, CIRES
University of Colorado Boulder
deems@nsidc.org

 

 

Joseph Kasprzyk

Joseph Kasprzyk
Assistant Professor, Civil, Environmental, and Architectural Engineering
University of Colorado Boulder
joseph.kasprzyk@colorado.edu

 

 

Douglas Kenney

Douglas Kenney
Senior Researcher
Getches-Wilkinson Center for Natural Resources, Energy, and the Environment
University of Colorado Boulder
douglas.kenney@colorado.edu

   
Bobbie Klein

Bobbie Klein
Managing Director, CSTPR
Associate Scientist, CIRES
University of Colorado Boulder
bklein@colorado.edu

   
Kelly Mahoney

Kelly Mahoney
Research Scientist, CIRES
University of Colorado Boulder
Affiliate, NOAA Earth Systems Research Laboratory
kelly.mahoney@noaa.gov

   
Rebecca Morss

Rebecca Morss
Scientist III
Regional Climate Research
NCAR Earth System Laboratory
morss@ucar.edu

   
Ami Nacu-Schmidt

Ami Nacu-Schmidt
Outreach Coordinator, CSTPR
University of Colorado Boulder
ami@cires.colorado.edu

   
Balaji Rajagopalan

Balaji Rajagopalan
Professor and Chair, Civil, Environmental, and Architectural Engineering
Fellow of CIRES
University of Colorado Boulder
rajagopalan.balaji@colorado.edu

 

 

Noah Molotch

Mark Raleigh
Postdoctoral Researcher, CIRES
University of Colorado Boulder
mark.raleigh@colorado.edu

   
Andrea Ray

Imtiaz Rangwala
Research Scientist, CIRES
University of Colorado Boulder
Affiliate, NOAA Earth Systems Research Laboratory
imtiaz.rangwala@colorado.edu

   
Andrea Ray

Andrea Ray
Physical Scientist
NOAA Earth System Research Laboratory
andrea.ray@noaa.gov

 

Carol Wessman

Carol Wessman
Professor, EE Biology
Fellow of CIRES
University of Colorado
carol.wessman@colorado.edu

 

 

Olga Wilhelmi

Olga Wilhelmi
Project Scientist III
Climate Science & Applications Program
NCAR Research Applications Laboratory
olgaw@ucar.edu

   
Klaus Wolter

Klaus Wolter
Research Scientist, CIRES
Affiliate, NOAA Earth Systems Research Laboratory
klaus.wolter@noaa.gov

   

 

Graduate Students

John Berggren

John Berggren
Environmental Studies (D. Kenney)
University of Colorado Boulder
john.berggren@colorado.edu

 

 

Katie Clifford

Katie Clifford
Geography (W. Travis)
University of Colorado Boulder
katie.clifford@colorado.edu

   
Adam McCurdy

Adam McCurdy
Geography (W. Travis)
University of Colorado Boulder
adam.mccurdy@colorado.edu

 

 

Rebecca Page

Rebecca Page
Environmental Studies (L. Dilling)
University of Colorado Boulder
rebecca.page@colorado.edu

   
Dominik Schneider

Dominik Schneider
Geography (N. Molotch)
University of Colorado Boulder
dominik.schneider@colorado.edu

   
Rebecca Smith

Rebecca Smith
Civil and Environmental Engineering (J. Kasprzyk)
University of Colorado Boulder
resm1653@colorado.edu

   


Research Collaborators